The Nahanni “Classic” is a two-week canoeing trip and the perfect opportunity to paddle the highlights of Tehjeh Deé (the South Nahanni River). Beginning at Gahnîhthah Mįe (Rabbitkettle Lake), home of the rare “Tufa Mounds”, we will descend Tehjeh Deé (the South Nahanni River) for 3 days on swift yet non-technical class I whitewater, where you will get the chance to learn and refresh your whitewater paddling skills. This section ends with the awe-inspiring Náįlįcho (Virginia Falls), which pours over a cataract twice the height of Niagara Falls. From there you will paddle through four antecedent canyons that are, in places, deeper than the Grand Canyon and faster flowing, with some class II whitewater.

Named by UNESCO the very first World Heritage Site, the Nahanni is definitely one of the world’s best canoeing rivers.

Want to Learn More?

Click here to access a detailed trip package with an itinerary and a full list of inclusions and exclusions for our 2024 dates, click here for 2025. To access a recommended packing list, click here.

Dates, Rates & Availability

Prices listed are per person. All dates listed are tentative until confirmed by the Black Feather Office. Click here for our booking, payment and cancellation policies. Please contact us to be put onto a waiting list if your desired trip is full.

Dates Trip Fee Availability
Fri. July 12 - Thurs. July 25, 2024 $8,795 CAD Trip Full
Fri. July 19 - Thurs. Aug 1, 2024 $8,795 CAD Book Now
Fri. Aug 2 - Thurs. Aug 15, 2024 $8,795 CAD Book Now
Fri. Aug 16 - Thurs. Aug 29, 2024 $8,795 CAD Book Now
Fri. June 20 - Thurs. July 3, 2025 $9,495 CAD until Oct 31* Book Now
Fri. July 4 - Thurs. July 17, 2025 $9,495 CAD until Oct 31* Book Now
Fri. July 18 - Thurs. July 31, 2025 $9,495 CAD until Oct 31* Book Now
Fri. Aug 1 - Thurs. Aug 14, 2025 $9,495 CAD until Oct 31* Book Now
Fri. Aug 15 - Thurs. Aug 28, 2025 $9,495 CAD until Oct 31* Book Now

What's Included

Guides

  • 6:1 Ratio

Accommodation

  • 12 nights camping
  • 1 night in Fort Simpson

Meals

  • all meals and snacks from Day 1 lunch to Day 13 lunch
  • dinner Day 13 and breakfast Day 14 in Fort Simpson

Canoeing Equipment

  • ABS expedition canoes with spray decks and knee pads
  • paddles, PFDs, throw bags, paddling suits & helmets

Camping Equipment

  • tents – free standing expedition dome tents – 2 per tent
  • ‘kitchen’ – tarp, fire box, cooking stoves, utensils, dishes, etc
  • containers for food and group equipment

Safety Equipment

  • first aid, safety, river rescue, and repair kits
  • communications equipment (satellite phone)

Transportation

  • charter float plane flight from Fort Simpson to Rabbitkettle Lake – Day 1
  • shuttle of group and gear back to Fort Simpson – Day 13
  • transportation of guides, group gear, food, etc. to Fort Simpson
  • ground transfers between Fort Simpson Airport and Black Feather Base / float plane docks at the beginning and end of the trip